Leave the coal in the ground
– instead of undermining our protest

Support climate activists in court

RWE remains unpunished for mining coal and destroying the climate. At the same time, we are being criminalised for minor infringements during legitimate protest.

About 100 people who participated in actions of protest like “Ende Gelände” have been asked to sign a declaration to cease and desist. That represents a legally binding promise to RWE to refrain from any future protest on their property. People who do not sign it can expect to be taken to court. The costs for a potential civil law suit alone vary between 3.000 and 10.000 Euros – or more, depending on how many appeal levels we want to go through. We intend to take at least one case as far as the Federal Constitutional Court (which would cost about 32,000 Euros).

RWE is destroying unique forests and historical villages to be able to mine lignite. Their power plants account for more than 10 percent of the German CO₂ emissions. According to German climate politics, this is supposed to continue until the middle of the century.

Being taken to court contradicts our sense of justice: considering scientific facts, coal mining is wrong. And resistance against coal mining is not only legitimate but crucial for the next generation.

To prevent climate change from becoming totally uncontrollable, we need to leave fossil fuels in the ground – at best immediately.

RWE wants to silence our protest – we will not let that happen!

Therefore we need your support.

Kohle unten lassen
statt Protest unterlassen

Unterstützt Klima-Aktivist*innen vor Gericht

Während RWE ungestraft Kohle abbaut und das Klima zerstört, werden wir für geringfügige Regelübertritte bei legitimem Protest kriminalisiert.

Etwa 100 Menschen, die sich an Protestaktionen wie „Ende Gelände“ beteiligten, wurden von der Großkanzlei Redeker, Sellner, Dahs aufgefordert, eine Unterlassungserklärung (Beispiel) zu unterschreiben. Dabei handelt es sich um ein rechtsverbindliches Versprechen an RWE, in Zukunft jeglichen Protest auf deren Betriebsgelände zu unterlassen. Die meisten Aktivist*innen weigerten sich, die Erklärung zu unterzeichnen. Die ersten werden nun von RWE verklagt, auch den anderen droht ein Zivilprozess. Die Kosten der Gerichtsverfahren belaufen sich auf 3.000 bis 10.000 Euro pro Person – oder auch mehr, wenn wir uns durch mehrere Instanzen klagen. Mindestens einen Fall möchten wir als Musterklage bis zum Bundesverfassungsgericht bringen. Dafür werden rund 32.000 Euro benötigt.

Für den Abbau von Braunkohle zerstört der Energiekonzern RWE einzigartige Wälder und historische Dörfer; die Kraftwerke des Konzerns verursachen rund zehn Prozent der deutschen CO₂-Emissionen. Nach Willen der deutschen Klimapolitik soll das bis Mitte des Jahrhunderts so weiter gehen.

Dass wir verklagt werden, widerspricht unserem Rechtsverständnis: Angesichts der naturwissenschaftlichen Faktenlage ist es Unrecht, Kohle abzubauen. Es ist richtig und wichtig, Widerstand dagegen zu leisten.

Um zu verhindern, dass der Klimawandel unkontrollierbar wird, müssen wir fossile Ressourcen im Boden lassen. Am besten sofort.

RWE will unseren Protest mundtot machen – das lassen wir nicht zu!

Dabei brauchen wir eure Unterstützung.